Residents of Washougal failing to register their vehicles in Washington State are fraudulently evading their social responsibility to contribute to our community.
Get New Plates When Moving to Washington
You must get your Washington driver license, then register your vehicle(s). You have 30 days to do this after you've moved here. Failure to do so is an infraction subject to a fine of $529 (Revised Code of Washington [RCW] 46.16A.030).
Registration of a vehicle in another state to avoid taxes and fees is a crime punishable as a first time offense by up to 364 days in jail and $1,529 in fines plus any delinquent taxes, fees, and applicable assessments (RCW 46.16A.030[a]).